Prananath College Building


Brief History

The Department Of Botany, P.N College (Autonomous), Khordha, Odisha was established in 1971 with a Degree-course(Pass) under Utkal university, Vanivihar, Bhubaneswar and owes its origin to the devoted and tenacious efforts of the great soul Late Prananath Pattanaik. The Department of Botany has been in the fore front of teaching in plant science since its year of establishment. The original aim of providing quality education to the educationally underprivileged tribe of this locality has been successfully fulfilled in 1974, when this Dept. Of Botany accorded due recognition to establish Botany (honours) courses, since then the Department has shown its extraordinary performances towards imparting knowledge over plant science and its various scope among students. In 2009, The Department started an advance tissue culture programme for 2 years. Various students participated in the programme and acquired useful skill in achieving full knowledge over plant science .
Programme offered
B.Sc. (Botany Hons.)
Inter disciplinary courses
Environmental Science, Biotechnology, Biology
Intake Capacity(Students)

Faculty Profile
(including teaching, non-teaching & technical staff)

Dr. Binodini Mishra
M.Sc., M.Phil, Ph.D, NET
Dr. Ladukesh P. Mishra
M.Sc., Ph.D
Mrs. Sudhansumala Rout
M.Sc. , M.Phil, B.Ed
Dr. Gitanjali Rout
M.Sc., M.Phil, B.Ed, Ph.D
Mr. Laxmi Prasanna Pattanaik
Mr. Jyoti Ranjan Pattanaik
M.Sc., LLB
Mrs. Amrita Manjari
Mr. Jitendra Kumar Samantaray
Ms. Ushashee Mandal
Mr. Sanjay Kumar Rath
Mr. Bikash Sahoo
Mr. Biswanath Mohanty


Remarkable achievements

  1. State/National Level Seminar Organized By The Department
  2. Extra Mural /Expert Lecturer Organized by the Department
  3. Achievement of the Students in various co-curricular activities
  4. Mentainance of Biological garden with various plants with academic and medicinal plants


Name Qualification/Position
Dr. Pratyush K. Pradhan Reader in Botany, P.N (A) College, Khordha
Priya Ranjan Behera M Sc., Botany Project Assistant Natural Product Division, RRL,BHUBANESWAR.
Suravi Dipali Muduli M Sc. ENV. Sc. NOU, Project Assistant Hydrometeorology Division, RRL, Bhubaneswar.
Saswati Nayak M.SC,SRF,ALGAL Biotechnology IARI, New- Delhi.
Animesh Das Pattanaik Lect. in Botany, Christ College ,Cuttack
Mr Rabindra Ku Pradhan Orissa Administrative Service, Tangi ,Orissa
Dhiren Ku. Pattaniak IAS
Chiittranjan Khuntia OAS
Soumaya Kanta Chhotaray IFS, (AP)
Poonam Singh SBI, BBSR.
Maitree Mohanty Jr. Clerk Court
Amarpalli Priyadarshini Jr. Clerk Forest Dept. Khordha.
Rojalin Pradhan Jr. Clerk Collector Office, Khordha
Mehul Agrawall WIPRO(Banglore, Karnataka)
Mr. Sanjay Kumar Pattanaik Assistant Auditor General of Co-operative Society, Odisha
Dr. Raghunath Rath Reader (Rtd), Talcher College, Anugul
Mr. Sangram Keshari Samantaray Senior Audit Officer, Odisha
Mr. Biranchi Narayan Maharana Manager, Gramya Bank, Odisha