Prananath College Building


Brief History

Prananath College (Autonomous) was established in the year 1959. The scope of teaching in science initially limited to P. U. Scienec which was started in the year 1964. Degree college of science was started from the year 1971. Mr. Dibakar Pattanaik was the first HOD of the department. Honours course in chemistry was opened in the year 1974 with 16 seats. At present, the no. of Hohours seat is 56.

Year of Establishment of the Department

Pre-University Chemistry
Degree Chemistry( Pass)
Degree Chemistry ( Honours)

Faculty Profile
(including teaching, non-teaching & technical staff)

Dr. (Ms) Ajanta Satapathy
M.Sc. , M.Phil, Ph.D, NET
Dr. Pronab Kishore Mohanty
M.Sc., Ph.D
Dr. Priyabrata Mohanty
M.Sc. , M.Phil, Ph.D
Dr. Purna Chandra Baisakh
M.Sc., M.Phil, Ph.D
Mr. Susanta Ku. Mishra
M.Sc., B.Ed
Dr. Shailendra Prasad Mishra
Mr. Santosh Kumar Behera
Mr. Samaresh Maharana
Mrs. Sipra Mohanty
Mrs. Dolly Mishra
M.Sc., B.Ed
Mr. Jagannath Sahoo
Mr. Gadadhar Rath
M.Sc., M.Phil, PGDCA
Ms Anuradha Bidhar
M.Sc., B.Ed, PGDCA
Mr. Kedareswar Mohapatra
Sk. Sarif
Sk. Amzad Alli
Mr. Madhab Sahoo

Remarkable Achievements

  1. 6 international publication
  2. Mr. Priyabarata Mohanty awarded 2nd position in poster competition on national science day at KIIT university
  3. Mr. Badal Behera got admitted inti IIT Mumbai through IIT Jam in 2016


International e-conference on "Plastic Pollution and Nano-Technology"

Date: 18-04-2021